Kettering parkrun

Alpacas, a roller coaster, a railway*, a lake, a wibbly wobbly bridge, a huge children’s playground, loos at the start, a downhill finish and a café.  It would be hard to walk away from Kettering parkrun without finding something to love.

I dispute the claim by Andrea** that it’s better than Wimbledon, but that’s because I’m rather partial to mud and windmills.

Of course, I didn’t go all the way to Kettering just to run 5k.  I didn’t even go all the way to Kettering just to run 5k with one of my all-time favourite running buddies.  I went to Kettering for a pub lunch with my mother, my aunt and my cousin***.  The parkrun was a purely incidental bonus.  Honest****.

 

* #choochoo

** creator of an exceptionally good first-timers’ briefing

*** of sorts

**** _hides crossed fingers behind back_

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment