Plain Crazy

This race, put on by the Royal British Legion (Warminster) as a fund-raiser, is a little bit of a lucky dip.  For a start, it takes place between Christmas and New Year, so the weather is unpredicatable.  Last year was deep snow, this year was mild enough for short sleeves.  It also takes place on MOD land, so the cross-country bits of the route are only doable if they’ve cleared the unexploded ordnance.  Which they hadn’t, so this year was a slightly shorter, essentially all-road route.

I was a little unsure about whether running this race was a good idea.  I signed up in October because I wanted a race to work towards to maintain my fitness.  I then completely failed to do any long runs, came down with a knee niggle and watched as my fitness levels nose-dived.

But marathon training has to start somewhere, so I strapped on my knee-support and bit the bullet.  And it actually wasn’t too bad.  I admit to walking a little really rather lotsly much during miles nine and ten, but in my defence, they were uphill and my feet were protesting my choice of shoes.  Other than that, it was fairly respectable, and I managed to get round the just over 11 miles in just over two hours.

And best of all, my knee barely grumbled.  Lochaber marathon here I come.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plain Crazy

  1. Shaz says:

    Glad knee held out here’s hoping it copes with the marathon training

  2. henniemavis says:

    I’m mightily impressed! I haven’t done any runs over 3 mi. in oh, 6 months now! But I will start gearing up soon (what’s Janathon for, after all?), as I want to do a half this year, my first ever! Your marathon training should help inspire me… right? 😉

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Still a great time considering you walked. RTake care of that knee though – lots of stretching and strengthening to get you to your Marathon…

  4. Did the route go through Imber Village? Haven’t been there since FIBUA training in Army days.

Leave a Reply

