Here comes the rain again

Considering that I have a two and a quarter mile open water swim in five weeks, I am doing remarkably little swimming.  So at half past three I extricated myself from underneath the cat, threw on my running kit, grabbed my swimsuit and headed off to the pool.

The run there was fairly uneventful, the swimming pool was lovely and quiet and the run back was…

…wet. 

And I got lost.  Not “help I really don’t know where I am” lost but “out by ninety degrees (or π/2 if radians are your bag)” lost.  Why it is so difficult to navigate across a small park I don’t know, but I got it wrong for the second week in a row.  I have many strengths, but apparently navigation by tree isn’t one of them.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, swimming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Here comes the rain again

  1. Just the navigational skills needed for directing Tourists in Hyde Park!
    Well done for facing another wet run home from the pool.

  2. plustenner says:

    well done! 🙂 my directional skills are bad too LOL

  3. Ha! Put me in unfamiliar territory on foot and i can guarantee 1 lost runner in about 60 seconds flat! Glad to see you got out there despite the weather 🙂

  4. I’ve just been on a quarter mile open water swim to Tesco Express for milkshake! OK, bit of an exaggeration, but it is WET out there!

  5. Years ago Clarkes bought out a range of shoes called something like ‘Pathfinders’, the gizmo in them was a compass in the sole, maybe it’s an idea for a running shoe…

  6. ……or you could unravel your jumper as you go, and follow it back to the start.!

  7. runorgocrazy says:

    I often have to ask random people for directions and usually I only popped out for a quick run!!

  8. lazybetty says:

    totally with you on that one. i often get lost in restaurants trying to find my way back from the loos

  9. Mmmmmm, I love π . Well done on the swim/run.

  10. shazruns says:

    Like Betty I struggle in restaurants but usually cant find my way out of the loo, have been known to end up in the cleaning cupboard!

  11. runtezza says:

    Oh wow have just clicked your hampton court swim link. That is imprresive!!!

    Re navigation by tree, try Scouting for Boys by Lord Baden Powell — lots of good stuff in there to keep you on track.

  12. Chris says:

    if you have a Garmin, you can mark your home location and use it to guide your way back. I thought I was the only one who gets lost to/from the pool. I once got so lost that I was too late for practice. Thankfully, that happens only rarely now.

  13. fortnightflo says:

    Well done for kicking the cat off your lap – I would have fallen at that hurdle let alone gone out in the rain!

Leave a Reply

