Ear worm: it’s a small world

Twenty four years ago, I went to Disneyland Florida with a friend.  It was hot, very hot, and every time we started to wilt, we’d head for the Small World ride, and drift along in the boats while we cooled down.  It was an inspired plan which saved us from sunburn and heatstroke, but had I known that it would result in a semi-permanent earworm, I might have resisted.

I spoke to a couple of Wimpole parkrunners at Hackney half marathon.  It turns out that they are one of a handful of people who read my blog.

“It’s a world of laughter, a world of tears”

I mentioned my previous job at work and got the response “I *knew* I recognised you from somewhere!”.

“It’s a world of hopes and a world of fears”

I ordered a cab from Eastbourne to Firle, only to find out that the driver had been to the same school as me and had given lifts to SDW100 runners at the end of last year’s race.

“There’s so much that we share, that it’s time we’re aware”

I ran back from Firle to Eastbourne and bumped into a woman I’d met last weekend at the Botley Hill Aid Station.

“It’s a small world after all.”

“It’s a small world after all”
“It’s a small world after all”
“It’s a small world after all”
“It’s a small, small world.”*

Somebody please play me Agadoo or Hold a chicken in the air or Going to the chapel or I’m a party girl or ANYTHING to replace it.

Please.

* And count yourselves VERY lucky that all the versions of It’s a small world on YouTube have missing apostrophes, because otherwise I’d have linked to them.**

** In fact, maybe I should link to one anyway so that you can experience the pain too…

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ear worm: it’s a small world

  1. plustenner says:

    Totally!! What are the chances of bumping into someone you worked with 16 years ago while volunteering at the SDW100 (Doug Murray) and then someone else while at parkrun with you last year.. I think your small world-itis is spreading 🙂

  2. I’m NOT clicking that link. I’m not.

    Anyway, count yourself lucky… I keep singing,
    “Don’t know if I’m elated or gassy, but I’m somewhere in that zone…”

    and as a result I can’t move on with my life.

Leave a comment