No run, couldn’t be bothered

“Fartlek: 45 minutes overall, dropping in 10 x 60 sec sprints up to a 100% effort ideally on shallow inclines”

I used to fall for it.

Fartlek.  Speed play.  Fun.

Dropping in.  Occasional.  Casual.

I don’t any more.  A 10 minute warm up and a 5 minute cool down leaves just 30 minutes.  Add 10 x 60sec sprints into the mix and it becomes 1 minute on, 2 minutes off.  Add the desired inclines and my local terrain, and the playful veneer disintegrates leaving behind a 30 minute interval session.

As I sat on the sofa with the cat (will I ever learn?) my enthusiasm for the run waned.  I contemplated skipping it, but I suspect “no run, couldn’t be bothered” is an excuse with a very limited number of uses, best kept for a rainy day.

Eventually, long after the time I’d have been back by if I’d gone for my run when I first got home, I dragged myself out the door towards the gentle rise I’d earmarked for the efforts.  Up and down.  Back and forth.  To and fro.  It wasn’t exciting, nor was it playful, but it did have its moments.

Not least of which was this festive extravaganza…

img_7594

Merry Christmas.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No run, couldn’t be bothered

  1. Andy says:

    My eyes! My eyes! Save me from the Christmas lights. 😖😖

Leave a Reply

