C is for Company…

…and Cake and Cheshire-Cat-Like-Grins (though I’ll be the first to admit that the last one is perhaps a slight stretch).

This morning, in a bid to turn a dull-as-ditchwater flat road training run into something a little more bearable*, I decided to set my alarm for stupid o’clock** and run to Surbiton junior parkrun to meet up with a friend.  Once there I offered my services to the ED, (none other than Mr Danny Norman) who found me a cushy little role counting the adult runners as they passed on lap one and then cheering the children through the finish funnel at the end of lap two, all of which kept me occupied and staved off the ‘fish out of water’ feeling I’d been dreading.

It was my second stupid o’clock start of the weekend, as I’d headed down to Hastings parkrun yesterday to meet a couple of friends for a catch up and a teeny tiny sliver of berry and coconut cake***.  I haven’t been doing a great deal of long-haul parkrun tourism recently (though I did end up at Reading parkrun last weekend partway through course marking the Henley to Whitchurch stretch of the Thames Path 100****) but apparently I still have a little bit of left over wanderlust as I still see travelling 70 miles to a parkrun for a little bit of company as a perfectly reasonable thing to do.

Two mornings + two parkruns + two great sets of company + one teeny tiny sliver of cake = many Cheshire-Cat-Like-Grins.

* beerable?

** Yes.  Pedant.  Technically the decision to set my alarm was made last night, but the alarm went off this morning, so I. Don’t. Care.

*** This is not a side plate.

IMG_8119

*** A serendipitous piece of timing which required neither logistical manoeuvring nor an absolutely revolting o’clock alarm call.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

