Swapping one obsession for another

This time last year, I ran my first parkrun.  In the 51 Saturdays that followed, I ran 50 parkruns, each at a different venue, bringing my 2011 parkrun tally to 51 parkruns, 50 venues.

By the end, the relentless pursuit of new parkrun courses was taking its toll, and so to make sure that I continued to enjoy each and every parkrun that I visited, I decided to take part in the special New Year’s Day parkruns, repeating Bushy and Riddlesdown and breaking my nomadic streak.

But it turns out that in doing so, I find myself on a different type of streak.  Because with Bedford (Fortnight Flo), Bushy (the world), Riddlesdown (blog7t) and Bromley (@zoecakes75 and @runningthetube), I am now on a streak of four parkruns with ‘athoner/blogger/parkrunner company, and I could make that a streak of five if Fortnight Flo and Jovial Gnome are game to join me at the new St Albans parkrun next week.

So, virtual community, will you invite me to your parkruns?  I promise you it’s not a big commitment.  A ‘hello’ at the beginning or a ‘goodbye’ at the end is really all that’s called for, though if you run your 5kms in anything between 28mins and 34mins, I’m happy to chat on the way round.

Because, by this time next year, I would like to have earned my parkrun 100 club t-shirt and experienced the joy of parkrun volunteering.  And a spot of company on the way would be great.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Swapping one obsession for another

  1. jogblog says:

    I’d love a parkrun here in Ashford and we’ve even got the perfect venue for it. I haven’t got the dedication to organise it myself though, just hope someone does one day.

  2. JovialGnome says:

    I will certainly be with you for St. Albans, really looking forward to adding another one to the list and seeing you again – anything or any new ones within 100 miles of Boston and I’m game!

  3. If you ever find yourself in the vicinity of the Middlesbrough or Durham (or even Sunderland/Newcastle parkruns at a push) I’d be happy to join you on a run round the course (and breakfast afterwards)

  4. Rachel says:

    You missed a point…..

    “Loves parkrun but needs the discipline of meeting someone to get out of bed on a Saturday and get there like @fairweatherrun”

    How about Gunnersbury or Wormwood scrubs sometime soon?

  5. Kieron C says:

    You put shame to my tally of 30 parkruns, 2 venues! I’d be delighted to run Vally Park with you again, coffee and sesame snaps on me – we have a new *posh* cafe 🙂

  6. 7stoneitch says:

    If I ever get to the point where I am able to complete a Parkrun I’ll invite you up to mine, once I discover my local one and am sure I can run/jog/hobble around it LOL

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Definately in need of committing…Good Luck!

  8. zoecakes says:

    Lovely to see you this morning and thanks to your consistent pace I got a PB 🙂

  9. What a good idea 🙂 … Not even sure if there is a local (Derby/Nottingham) one but I’ll be checking.

  10. sooozie says:

    Come back to the Cambridge parkrun! It is the 2nd anniversary of the Cambridge parkrun this month so should be a good turnout and hopefully lots of cake!

  11. I can certainly vouch for the benefits of hiring abradypus for your local parkrun. I had an awesome pace while I was running with Louise before I was scuppered by the Leverhulme hill (which I will conquer one day).

  12. Pingback: A Grump of athoners « Fortnightflo's Blog

  13. plustenner says:

    am up for a parkrun on the 28th of Jan if you like?

  14. henniemavis says:

    OH, how I wish, wish, WISH I could come to a Park Run! It would mean I would be in your country! And I could meet many of you in person! It would be such a fun thing… someday 🙂

Leave a Reply

