Loss of faith

After unceremoniously bailing out of Thursday’s mile reps, I decided to have another go on Friday morning.

To say my heart wasn’t really in it would be an understatement, but I was determined to give it a go.

It started fairly promisingly, and at the 42 second mark I was going well.  My ribs were aching but markedly less sore than they had been and I felt that an attempt at an all out mile might be on the cards.

Then disaster struck.  My Garmin beeped to say I’d finished the first mile.  In six minutes.  Despite the fact that I was just over half a mile from the house.

Shaken to the core* I hesitated.  Had my Garmin randomly decided to work in kilometres?  Was a newly sentient satellite showing its mean streak?  Was cloud cover playing havoc with the satellite signal?  One thing was certain, I could no longer trust the technology with my mile splits.

I took the hint and went home.  The mile reps will just have to wait until another day.

*Relieved and grasping at the first available excuse.

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Loss of faith

  1. plustenner says:

    you were probably running too fast for the satellites to keep up!

  2. runtezza says:

    What a perfectly charmin garmin!

  3. My mile pb is 4 min 06 seconds according to Nike+
    I’d delete that run apart from I’m worried it would then say my next best was 4 min 07 seconds and I’d have to keep going like that. Would I just stop at a fast (but believable) time?

Leave a Reply

