Pin cushion

When I was very young, I had to have regular vaccinations, which meant injections about every six months.  As Abradysis and I were driven to the clinic, she would regale me with stories about how they would probably have run out of the small needles and so would have to use the big needles which were huge and would go all the way through my arm.  Needless to say, by the time we got to the doctor, I would be hysterical and a complete joy for the medical team to deal with*.

I still don’t like needles, though these days it manifests as inane chatter and slightly manic giggling rather than an all out tantrum, so when my massage therapist suggested that we try relaxing my over-tight quads with acupuncture rather than massage, you’d have thought I’d have run screaming for the hills.

In fact, I said “okay…and just ignore me if I get slightly giggly” and then I kept my eyes shut tight so that I couldn’t see this:

  

Surprisingly, my quads don’t seem to share my aversion to needles, and ended the session much more relaxed than they’d started.  Tell me that sticking a needle in me will affect my chi and rebalance my energy levels and I’ll tell you to get stuffed, but I will entertain the idea that sticking pins into a muscle may help that particular muscle to relax.  

I might even be open to trying it again, though I will definitely still be keeping my eyes tight shut.

* I was young.  This is my memory of events.  It may or may not be true.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pin cushion

  1. Well… there’s nothing wrong with your proprioception if you were able to take that photo with your eyes shut.

Leave a Reply

